Counties in California a
  Keith Broaders
History of the Counties in California

<.center> Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, El Dorado, Los Angeles, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Monerey, Napa, San Diego, San Francisco, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Solano, Sonoma, Sutter, Sacramento, Santa Barbara, San Joaquin, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo, Yuba,

Added in 1851- Placer, Nevada

Added in 1952 - Sierra, Siskiyou, Tulare

Added in 1853 - Alameda, Humboldt, San Bernardino

Added in 1854 - Stanislaus, Amador, Plumas

Added 1855 - Merced.

Added in 1856 - Fresno Tehama, San Mateo

Added in 1857 - Del Norte

Added in 1861 - Mono, Lake

Added in 1864 - Lassen, Alpine

Added in 1866 - Inyo, Kern

Added in 1872 - Ventura

Added in 1874 - San Benito, Modoc

Added in 1889 - Orange

Added in 1891 - Glenn

Added in 1893 Riverside, Kings, Madera

Added in 1907 - Imperial

Charter Counties: Alameda, Butte, El Dorado, Fresno, Los Angeles, Orange, Placer, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Tehama

Charter Versus General Law Counties

The California Constitution of 1879 established a senate with a membership of 40 districts.

Up until 1965 Senatorial Districts were predominately counties.
Last updated  2018/06/20 13:40:36 PDTHits  3