reviews MSquadron'Z WebPage - Pokemon Game Reviews -
  Please e-mail me to submit your review

Click to Make this site your FrontPage!


Home/Recent News
News Archive

Page Statistics
Special NewZ


News/Press Release


What's Pokémon?




Episode Guide


Battle chart | 2 |

Pokémon Map







Release Dates



Information  | 2 |




Release Dates

Gold/Silver Edition

GameShark Cheats

Picture Archive

Sticker Gallery

151 Pokemon Gallery

3D Gallery


Group Pictures

Silly Pictures


3D Icons

Trouble Pictures

Fighting Pictures



Created Illustrations


Trading Card Game

1st Edition Base Set Images

1st Edition Jungle Images

1st Edition Fossil Images



Site Contest


Battle Arena



Message Boards


Raise a Pikachu!

Raise a Chocobo!

Twin Battle

Bubble Trouble Mew

Bash Bulbasaur

Fan Fiction

Guest Book


Match Game


Poll Results


Who Said That?
Who'Z That Pokemon?


Famous Quotes




WorldWide NewZ
^Need Ideas! Contact ME^








Burger King Toys

Promo Cards



Trading Cards

Game Info

Card List

Promo Cards






Hosted Sites

Friend Sites


Website Hosting

Pokemon Market


Banner Creation

Free E-mail

Adoption Center

Banner Swap

Link Exchange

Pokemon Tests
Special Thanx to
Oaks Pokémon Tests

Basic Skills

Brock's Item Test

WTPokemon Test



MSD Leagues/Associations




Site Map

Parents' Area


Link To Us


Send Feedback

Website Members

Coming Soon..


Want to be advertised? Need those extra hits?
Have a section reserved for you on
MSquadron today! Contact me for Info



Advertised Sites








Yellow Version | Blue/Red Version  | Pinball Review  |Trading Card Game GB Review | Stadium Review | Snap Review  | Gold/Silver Review  

Pokemon Yellow

Pokémon Yellow is sort of like the Red/Blue version, except there are a few changes...

In the beginning, Prof. Oak fights/captures a wild Pikachu, and gives it to you.

Gary starts off with an Eevee

Team Rocket is in!!! They have Meowth, Ekans, and Koffing (all of which evolve)

It's possible to catch wild Charmanders, Squirtles, and Bulbasaurs (like the show)

Cheats don't work in this version

Pictures of some Pokémon and Gym Leaders have been improved
You can print your Pokedex and Pokémon stickers via the GameBoy Printer

Pikachu follows you around (you can see him on the screen)

Follows the show more closely than Blue/Red

Pokémon evolve at different levels in the Yellow version

Some TMs won't work on the Pokémon that they used to work on in the Red/Blue version

Pokemon Reviews (Yellow) Customer reviews:

Reviews: 1 - 18 of 18
A customer on Tuesday, March 28, 2000

Best yet for gameboy
For all of you that said it s**ked, get a life. So far it has been the best game to come out on the gameboy color as far as graphics and color. If you don't even like pokemon I would say don't buy it, b/c you won't get it. By the way, the way they set up the three games to "catch them all" was an ingeniuous marketing idea.


A customer on Tuesday, March 14, 2000

A very Fun Game
I think this game is better than blue & red. I got lucky and got the special bundle pack.
It was a very good deal and the game blows away blue and red because of the colors. It made me want the other 2 versions more. My advice buy all of them because you "GOTTA CATCH 'EM ALL!!"


A customer on Saturday, February 19, 2000

this game is alright...
Pokemon yellow is pretty cool, the pokemon look better, and are in colour(sort of). It's a pretty cool thing that you can see how pikachu is feeling. The major downside to this game is that there's NO NEW POKEMON and the gameplay is almost EXACTLY the same as red and blue. I mean, just about EVERY pokemon fan wants to see some new pokemon!!! Overall, this is a pretty cool game, and a bit more interesting than the red and blue. I was kind of sorry to give this game such a bad rating, because I'm a major pokemon fan myself.

rating done by Gatomon


A customer on Saturday, February 19, 2000

This game is by far the better of the 3 Pokemon games. Different colors make a big difference! This game is a must have for a pokemon fan, or the game to get if you're just starting!


A customer on Wednesday, February 16, 2000

Good game, Blue and Red are Better
I’ve played both games quite a lot and I must say that the Pokemon look better in Yellow, but Blue and Red are still better. If you already have a Red or Blue and want to buy Yellow, rent it first and see what you think.


A customer on Saturday, February 12, 2000

There is only one good thing about it!!
It really didn't pass the test for me.It was the same as red & blue except for the fact that it had good color.If you have red or blue dont buy this.This is just a waste of time and money


Jim Johnson ( on Friday, February 11, 2000

Not too bad.
Well, what can I say? It's Pokemon, so it'll sell a million copies. I will say, the upgraded colors are nice, the new pictures look cool, but that's it. It's still a good game, but I don't know if it's worth a purchase if you have the red or blue cartridge, because it's still the same game. If you're looking for an RPG on Game Boy Color, I would recommend Dragon Warrior Monsters. It's much more for your money.


A customer on Monday, January 31, 2000

Well, I expected more
This game was given alot of hype. I guess Im also not a big pokemon fan, but I did expect more from a game that is more popular than anything else I have heard about in a long time. The idea is OK. And would be somewhat addictive except that the game is always the same, and it gets boring pretty fast. I just wish that the battles were a little more exciting and enjoyable. Also, it seems like the story line drags on and on.


A customer on Monday, January 31, 2000

And they Call this a Rpg????!!!!
This game s**ks. and I have played it(sadly, just to review it). The graphics s**k totally. No profanity, violence, drugs, or any mention of sex. They call this a rpg? You don't even conrol fighting. And you CANT DIE!!! Do yourself a favor, buy a pc, Go buy a Rpg like fallout or Baldurs gate - It will be well worth it(and dont worry kids, Fallout is something your parents wont let you buy because of the sex, drugs, etc.), but Baldurs gate has a rating of T, and it is ok for the kiddies!


A customer on Friday, January 21, 2000

This game is the best of all Gameboy games. It's a good challenge and you will love it for a long time. I especially like the part that Pikachu follows you. GET IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Brian Rollins ( on Wednesday, January 19, 2000

Are they kidding???
I couldn't believe how bad this game was. It was hardly a game! The music is a joke, there are no endings, and any one of the Final Fantasy games on Game Boy could open a can on it. The first Nintendo game I ever played was The Legend of Zelda on 8 bit NES, and it was legendary. Every single little kid who buys this will be sold out to a weak game, whose sole purpose is making money! Why don't they just change their slogan to "Must Buy Them All!" ?


A customer on Wednesday, January 19, 2000

Pokemon yellow is so much worse than the other two games. Its new features are really cruddy, especially that gay Pikachu following u around. Plus the bosses are not even a challenge, I beat the main boss when my Ditto was at level 2. This game wuz a joke, i cant believe there actually trying to sell it.


A customer on Wednesday, January 19, 2000

very fun
I think that this is the best Pokemon fame that I have ever played and I've played and beaten red and blue. It was my favorite of all. I think it is cute how Pikacu follows you around. I recommend this great game! So think right and buy the game!!!


Canaan Van De Mark ( on Saturday, January 08, 2000

Great game
It's primarily the same as red and blue but,in yellow Pikachu follows you around and you can see how he's feeling.Also in yellow Jesse and James fight you with Ekans/Arbok,Koffing/Weezing and Meowth.You can also get Bulbasaur,Charmander and Squirtle without trading.


Brian Roberts ( on Wednesday, January 05, 2000

It's new features are great!
Pokemon yellow is similair to the red and blue versions but now has picachu following u around and has some cool new features. The game is also significantly esier than the first ones


A customer on Tuesday, January 04, 2000

Better than Pokemon red/blue due to the color game
I played the Red version but was annoyed it was only 4 colors on my colorgameboy (despite being a very good game). I ordered the yellow version with the special gameboy because my son was playing mine all the time.
I was pleasently surprised to see that Pokemon Yellow is fully color gameboy compatible contrary to many reports. In other words: all graphics are redrawn and better than the red/blue, every monster has their own color, making the whole game a better, colorful experience.
The story line is identical to the red/blue with minor twists which only professional Pokemon players will enjoy.
If you have red/blue you dont need this one. If you have a color gameboy though you will enjoy the game again as I did (and I am 35...)
For those wondering who never played Pokemons: Its simply one of the best games for your gameboy. You can play and save at any point so you can happily enjoy it even in small breaks or on the train.


A customer on Thursday, December 30, 1999

Pokemon Yellow Rules!
Pokemon Yellow is an updated version of the original Pokemon Red/Blue. It now has colored graphics for those of you with Game Boy Color, and a few new twists as well. Now you begin the game with Pikachu, who actually talks (unlike in the original versions)! Plus some graphics have been altered, a completely redone pokedex, and pokemon roam wild in different areas now and gain different attacks at different levels! A fantastic game! Check it out!


A customer on Thursday, December 30, 1999

Good Game
Finally a Pokémon gameboy game that is in color. I like it better than Red and Blue because the bosses are somewhat easier and there is new features. One feature is that you can see Pikachu's mood. It is a fun feature that I really like. The only problem is that the game is pretty much like the old one. The maps and the gameplay. Also, I get lost and stuck on where to go while playing. I hope they change the gameplay.


©1995, 1996, 1998 Nintendo, CREATURES, GAME FREAK. TM and ® are trademarks of Nintendo. ©2000 Nintendo. ©2000 Welch Foods Inc., A Cooperative.

Please Read Our Privacy Policy

Pokémon, Game Boy, Gotta Catch'em All, Jungle, Fossil and the official Nintendo seal are all trademarks of Nintendo. ©1995, 1996, 1998, and 1999 Nintendo, CREATURES, GAME FREAK.® & ™

HostedAffiliatesFriend SitesHot Links
Click to signup
Click to signup
Click to signup
Click to signup
Last updated  2008/09/28 05:06:29 PDT