Principles of the Constitutoin
The Online Professor Keith Broaders

7 Principles of the Constitution

7 Principles of the Constitution
This article contains the definitions meaning and words relating to the 7 Principles of the Constitution which provided the foundations for the government of the USA.

What are the 7 Principles of the Constitution?

Definition: The word 'Principles' means an explanation of the fundamental reasons and rationale of the working and mechanism of basic terms. The 7 Principles of the Constitution, the guidelines of the Founding Fathers are:

1. Popular sovereignty, meaning rule by the people
2. Republicanism, meaning the right to vote for representatives
3. Federalism meaning power is shared between the national and state governments
4. Separation of powers into branches that make, enforce or interpret laws
5. Balance of Power - controls (checks) can be made on the other branches
6. Limited government - everyone is bound by the US Constitution
7. Individual rights - personal freedoms are guaranteed by the Bill of Rights


Last updated  2019/10/13 15:01:51 PDTHits  8